suckling pig

Last night, at 8:30pm, Hank and I found ourselves at Citizen Public House & Oyster Bar for our friend Ben’s surprise 30th birthday party. Anyone who knows us knows that this is a bit on the late side, but we were lured in by the promise of a whole roasted pig. For a small chunk of change (or a large one!) you and a group of your closest friends can have them roast you a suckling pig, served with an oyster appetizer and plenty of hearty sides. If you are a fan of whiskey they have plenty of that too.

We started the evening with some oysters, which aren’t my favorite food in the world. In fact, I have had one in my lifetime. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t want another one either. I thought that this would be a good chance to try another one and see if my tastes had changed in the 7 years since my last one.

I definitely felt the same way about this one as I did the last one. Perhaps it was a little bit better, but I’m not going to ponder on it long enough to say for sure.

Next up were the sides. I didn’t get pictures of all of these, but we started with a nice arugula salad, and then THIS showed up!!!

A HUGE plate of salt roasted beets. Oh man, my hopes were really getting high at this point. We also had roasted cauliflower, and vats of creamy, buttery, sweet potatoes.

The pig was brought to the table first as a golden brown entity, and then later cut up into its parts.

Some brave souls even ate the head parts.

Overall, it was a really fun experience. I’m glad we did it even though it pushed my bedtime back about an hour and a half.

Leave a Reply

