Superbowl Fooday

We went overboard. Seriously.

Hank and I had a pretty busy beer weekend. Thursday, we went to Lord Hobo because they had Short’s on tap. On Friday, we volunteered at Extreme Beer Fest (there was Short’s). On Saturday, we attended the afternoon session of Extreme Beer Fest (Short’s again). And then after the Fest, we went back to Lord Hobo because they had 15! different Short’s beers on tap. Excellent, excellent, excellent!

Because of all of this running around drinking beer, we decided to hang at home on Sunday for the Superbowl/Downton Abbey. We spent the morning going for separate but equally awesome runs, hitting up Target, Trader Joe’s, Shaw’s, the Library, and Russo’s, coming home and cleaning the apartment, and then finally cooking the shit out of stuff in our fridge.

As a wedding gift, our friends Ashley and Ben gave us the ‘Clinton Street Baking Company Cookbook’. It wasn’t long after that I made the huevos rancheros for Hank for his birthday. It included making some amazing red beans. I have been dying to make these again for the last several weeks. We still had some dried Vermont cranberry beans from our CSA, so I decided to give it a go. Thanks to Bri for explaining to me how to prep dried beans for cooking when you have not soaked them overnight. This recipe takes quite awhile to make, but it isn’t hard at all.

We had some leftover hard taco shells that I stuck in the oven to crisp up, and then we ate some of the beans on them. YUM!

So, the beans were made just to have around, not really as part of our Superbowl eatingfest, but we did end up eating a little bit of them.

Next, we needed some veggies. We made some parsnips that have been hanging out in our fridge for awhile. We will call them snips.

As you might recall, we had planned on making a mushroom, onion and goat cheese pizza last Thursday. We didn’t get around to it since the food at Lord Hobo was calling our names. The ingredients for that pizza needed to be used. I was in charge of assembling the pizza this time. You might recall the mess that was our pizza making the last time.

I think that it was right about now that Hank sliced his thumb open on a can. This put him pretty much out of commission, but not before he shredded the heck out of a bunch of boiled chicken for the grand finale of our Fooday festivities.

HOT WING SOUP!

This is a Quinn family thing…I think. I don’t know. I just know that when we were cleaning out my grandparent’s house after my grandma passed away, someone handed me a tiny sheet of paper with instructions on how to make this soup. I’m not a big wing fan, but I love buffalo sauce. This was a happy medium for me and Hank when it came to having buffalo wings.

It’s basically sour cream, cream of chicken soup, milk, shredded chicken, celery, and hot sauce. Sprinkle blue cheese crumbles on top for good measure. The most healthy thing that Hank and I have ever made? Most certainly not! But delicious none the less.

I think that about sums it up. Sorry for the excessively long post.

2 thoughts on “Superbowl Fooday

  1. Pingback: That bean recipe everyone’s been talking about. | swupper

Leave a Reply

