The great tuna melt debate.

Hank has claimed that he could make a tuna melt as awesome as the melts at Vicki Lee’s in Belmont. I doubted my confidence in him (not the nicest thing a wife can do). The verdict: read ahead.

I was not around for the prep of this meal (I was getting my hair did), but Hank took some lovely pictures of his process.

He started with the tuna mixture, which consisted of tuna, mayo, hard-boiled egg, cilantro, and onion. I’m unsure whether Vicki puts eggs in her mixture…I just can’t remember!

Next, Hank buttered and pan-fried one side of the bread.

They may look a little on the dark side, but they were actually quite perfect. For bread, he used a red pepper hummus with sesame seeds and garlic bread from When Pigs Fly bakery. A great addition.

He then topped the mixture onto the bread, added some extremely amazing gruyere, and put them under the broiler.

They were served open faced with avocado holding it all in.

Of course, since Hank was hard boiling the eggs, there were deviled eggs to accompany our sammies.

The real verdict: At the time, I thought, “these are pretty good, but I don’t know if they are as good as Vicki Lee’s”, but I was starving at the time, and I probably would have thought the same thing no matter their quality. Reflecting back though, these were pretty damn good. I have been craving them since at least Sunday when I was discussing them with my mother-in-law.

2 thoughts on “The great tuna melt debate.

Leave a Reply

