A week gone by

A week and a day.

Things have happened, we have chowed.

Last Tuesday, we made an Eggplant curry. It was really good, but unfortunately, I don’t really remember what to say about it. I will say that I forgot to take a picture of it when we ate it, so here is a great photo of my leftovers:

Sorry, I guess it is mostly a picture of cilantro. Have I mentioned that we love that stuff? Do you see the orange thing in the upper right hand corner? That’s my greek yogurt. We do that too.

On Wednesday, we made a peanut noodle salad. I have to say, this one is excellent. Hank and I are at the point where we can just throw stuff together and make a pretty good peanut sauce, but this one kinda blew us away. It was a cold salad, so will be great for the summer. We put loads of veggies in it. Definitely make this one!

On Friday, we kept it easy and made nachos. I don’t think that the two of us have ever made nachos together. They bring back so many fond memories for me. My dad used to always make them for a snack at night when we were kids. The way the edges of the chips get all browned. Oh man.

You might notice our two favorites things in the photo above.

Last, but certainly not least, I made cookies on Sunday. This is a super rare thing for me for a few reasons. One, I don’t consider myself the best baker. I can do it, don’t get me wrong, but I’m much better at throwing things together and never measuring anything exactly than I am at truly following a recipe. There is so much pressure in baking! Hank, because he is a good husband, always tells me that I am an excellent baker. Two, if there are a bunch of cookies/baked goods around I start to feel bad that they aren’t getting eaten, but I don’t really eat a ton of them to get them to go away.

I made these cookies with work in mind though. My boss is vegan, and I have been wanting to bring something in to share, but I had never made a vegan dessert before. I found this recipe online of Thumbprint cookies, and I decided to give them a shot. They turned out great! Make sure to have a glass of cow’s milk by your side to wash them down.

On a super fun note, my office likes snacks…almost as much as this guy.

Leave a Reply

